cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are so many people so cheap these days?

I thought it was only at yard sales and on Craigslist that shoppers want everything for nothing.  I am findng the same mentality on eBay now.   I have been selling for about 10 years through various avenues and have never seen anything like this.  Have a brand new in package $175 quilt for sale on Craigslist (right now won't even think about listing it on eBay because of shipping costs) and am asking only $40.  Email I get yesterday only asks, "How low will you go?"  Really?  I know some people like this "game," but I am really tired of all the lowball offers.  

Message 1 of 225
latest reply
224 REPLIES 224

Re: Why are so many people so cheap these days?

@neveriiold wrote:

Hey, to anyone still reading this long conversation.  Happy to report a happy ending.  Had an antique chest listed on Craigslist and eBay for a while now.  No interest until this week - got two lowballers from Craigslist (to whom I politely said, "thanks, but no thanks.")  Just sold it to someone via eBay (who lives near my home actually) who paid full price and loves it!  Win, win for both.  

P.S.  Isn't that always the way - no interest in an item for a year and then in 2 days, 3 different people are interested in buying it.  

Nice! and yeah, that's usually the way it goes lol

The easier you are to offend the easier you are to control.

We seem to be getting closer and closer to a situation where nobody is responsible for what they did but we are all responsible for what somebody else did. - Thomas Sowell
Message 211 of 225
latest reply

@18704d wrote:

"If they are going to keep the sticker gun on .49 when it is a sterling silver candle holder.."

---------

They didn't know it was sterling silver.

They didnt' read it.  They didn't have time.  They are picking up items, nonstop.. hundreds per hour and tagging them.