cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are so many people so cheap these days?

I thought it was only at yard sales and on Craigslist that shoppers want everything for nothing.  I am findng the same mentality on eBay now.   I have been selling for about 10 years through various avenues and have never seen anything like this.  Have a brand new in package $175 quilt for sale on Craigslist (right now won't even think about listing it on eBay because of shipping costs) and am asking only $40.  Email I get yesterday only asks, "How low will you go?"  Really?  I know some people like this "game," but I am really tired of all the lowball offers.  

Message 1 of 225
latest reply
224 REPLIES 224

Re: Why are so many people so cheap these days?

...selling on eBay sounds like a hatchery...Cheep! Cheep! Cheep!

@u_cant_take_it_with_u - LOL   Smiley LOL

Message 46 of 225
latest reply

You're missing the point. When you have a bad attitude about buyers in general, that comes through in your listings. When you think of people as a herd you will turn away good paying buyers as well as the cheap ones.

Sometimes I wonder with the attitude some show here towards buyers why they're selling at all.

Message 47 of 225
latest reply

So you' re asking only $40 for a $175 quilt? That's a sure clue that you are open to lowering the price even more!

List the quilt at $125 and THEN entertain offers.

~~C~~
My Glass Duchess
Quoting Mom: In polite society, "hey" is for horses.
Message 48 of 225
latest reply

I disagree.  There are buyers who still appreciate "value" and as for asking $80 for an item I think is fairly priced at $40, I just ruled out getting any lookers at all.  

Message 49 of 225
latest reply