cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are so many people so cheap these days?

I thought it was only at yard sales and on Craigslist that shoppers want everything for nothing.  I am findng the same mentality on eBay now.   I have been selling for about 10 years through various avenues and have never seen anything like this.  Have a brand new in package $175 quilt for sale on Craigslist (right now won't even think about listing it on eBay because of shipping costs) and am asking only $40.  Email I get yesterday only asks, "How low will you go?"  Really?  I know some people like this "game," but I am really tired of all the lowball offers.  

Message 1 of 225
latest reply
224 REPLIES 224

Re: Why are so many people so cheap these days?

"I think more people are looking for quality these days.

I bought a pair of leather boots from wally, made in china, 25 bucks.
I don't know what they treated the leather with, but it made my feet burn.
Bought a pair of "Carolina" USA boots, they have lasted 20 years."

Yet another reason to shop the thrifts, esp the ones that don't toss things every week, and look for the Made in USA label.
Message 196 of 225
latest reply

Every thrift hire a professional antique dealer in the know? A bit expensive. Dealers are dealers because they want to be. If they wanted to work at a thrift store....probably a failed dealer. 

I sure hope you don't think one can just "google" decades of knowledge. Easy things you can, many unmarked and obscure things -not so much. 

Anyway. 

Most of what comes into any thrift on any day is low end. 

There are 1,000,000 and 1 tricks to know this business. Nobody ever learns it all. 

Message 197 of 225
latest reply

@emerald40 wrote:

@moondogblues wrote:
"What could you possibly pick up at a thrift store for .59 and get $100 for?"

A painting...a button (real diamonds), a rare book. They can't know about everything that comes in.