cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is with uploading my driver's license?

What is with uploading my driver's license? I have been selling on ebay since 2001 and never had to do that before.  Is that something new?

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

@fancycolors 

Yes, it's fairly new.

Have a great day
Message 2 of 21
latest reply

Seems they redo verification every so often.

Had any returns? had any failed delivery's, any canceled sales,   had any items removed by eBay or VERO?

Message 3 of 21
latest reply

here's a discussion.......next to last post may have the reason.....

https://community.ebay.com/t5/Selling/Anyone-else-getting-these-messages-from-ebay/m-p/33318630#M210...

Message 4 of 21
latest reply

I had to do it a few weeks ago.

I had to upload both sides of my license

I think it had to do with MP or something

its not a big deal to me since it went smoothly. once and done and no waiting on anything

@fancycolors 

Germantown proud Germantown strong
up the whiskey hickon
moving right along
Message 5 of 21
latest reply

eBay is required by law to:

KYC means Know Your Customer and sometimes Know Your Client.

KYC or KYC check is the mandatory process of identifying and verifying the client's identity when opening an account and periodically over time.

In other words, ebay must make sure that their clients are genuinely who they claim to be.

Online platforms that process funds may refuse to open an account or halt a business relationship if the client fails to meet minimum KYC requirements.

KYC process includes ID card verification, face verification, document verification such as utility bills as proof of address, and biometric verification.

Facilitators must comply with KYC regulations and anti-money laundering regulations to limit fraud. KYC compliance responsibility rests with the platform. 

In case of failure to comply, heavy penalties can be applied.