cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is with uploading my driver's license?

What is with uploading my driver's license? I have been selling on ebay since 2001 and never had to do that before.  Is that something new?

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

Re: What is with uploading my driver's license?

I've done it like three times now and it keeps coming back within an hour or 2.  

Message 16 of 21
latest reply

It's random...don't take it personally. I had to send a copy of my bank statement...and that's not easy as well.

If you don't have the new real ID driver's license yet which everyone needs to enter government buildings and fly on airplanes domestic by March....that's a big trip to the DMV only in person...You need 3 forms of ID to get that and the DMV will use a copy machine for those 3 forms in paper form to copy....anything on your iPhone does not count. I got mine but people in front of me in line did not.

Message 17 of 21
latest reply

@fancycolors wrote:

My thoughts exactly!  Hackers will have my information and my picture to do with whatever they want!  Do you think ebay is going to do everything (anything) to protect us sellers?  Not.  😞

If there ever were a massive eBay Data Breach and personal information got out I am sure eBay will do as other companies have done it the past and offer you one year of Free Credit Monitoring.

There was a data breach that affected 4.9 million during 2011.  A Hard Drive with all the information was stolen out of a parked car.  Big law suit that went no where other than Free Credit Monitoring for a year, if you chose to signed up for it. 

The judge wanted to see who had their Identity Stolen.  I believe it got down to that maybe one person may have been affected although their Identity Theft could have been from else where and not because of the 4.9 million data breach.