cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Main Reasons eBay Businesses Fail?

What would you say are some of the main reasons eBay businesses fail? You can break them down into top 10 if you want. 

I think this type of info can help people to learn what to avoid doing. 

Message 1 of 91
latest reply
90 REPLIES 90

@back-spin wrote:

What would you say are some of the main reasons eBay businesses fail? You can break them down into top 10 if you want. 

I think the Number 1 Reason is eBay.

They are not listening to their Customers.

Message 2 of 91
latest reply

I agree with Greg for the #1. Second is seller's refuse to put time into learning. I studied the policies and these answer boards daily for over 6 months before I started.  If folks just paid attention to what they are doing, there would not be so many mistakes. 🙂 

I am a founding member of the eBay Community Expert Group: a USA volunteer mentor with over a decade of experience. I am not an eBay employee.

Live simply. Care deeply. Love generously. Speak kindly. Laugh loudly. Act responsibly. Rejoice daily. Help cheerfully. Plan carefully. Criticize sparingly. Invest wisely. Forgive willingly. Shop seriously. Play fairly. Learn graciously.
Message 3 of 91
latest reply

1) Poor inventory choice

2) Too-high prices

You can have 10,000 things listed, but if they aren't things people want at prices those people are willing to pay, you aren't going to be getting sales.

Message 4 of 91
latest reply

This is in no particular order nor is it all inclusive, but it is a start.