cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

False claim

I've been selling for 23 years!  I have had about 10 buyers in the past make claims that an item "SMELLS BAD" and  hence makes a claim for item not as described for a refund/return and each returned item smelled fresh as a daisy. ..this is a cunning conniving way to  get a refund ..  As a long time seller, I know by now that each and every items needs to pass the sniff test in order to be listed..and this habitual. Once again, this is a claim from a buyer who offered me $10 off a $20 dress (I  do not take offers) and she bought it a week later and then  made this false claim and I'm pretty sure it did not fit her right as it was clearly described as running big with listed measurements..we all know that many buyers do not read... There is no way for a seller to protect herself from this...I told her that I no longer accept returns for this type of claim and I'm now awaiting my first negative in years...

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Re: False claim

EBay isn't smelling your item, and there is no non bias third party to determine if the claim is false.

Because of this, the claim is considered valid.

EBay has incorporated a few programs that inspect the items and they actually block returns based on the decisions of those programs (authenticity, EIS).

However, direct to consumer with no middleman means EBay consideres it valid.

But I mean that's not limited to eBay. I sell on Walmart, Amazon, Mercari, Facebook.

It's literally all the same thing. Accept and move on.

Message 16 of 26
latest reply

Thanks for the lecture

Message 17 of 26
latest reply

How you deal with the SNAD is your own choice, I’m sure you know how eBay deals with them.

As for the legitimacy (or lack of) of your buyer’s claim, I have a few questions. Sorry if this offends you as it’s not my intention, I just need to be thorough in order to help.