cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebay won't let me sell here any more :(

I am an individual seller; a 73 year old man simply selling items I no longer want or need for extra cash.  Not a business.  I have been selling here for 15 years.  Like everyone else, I have received the warning that as of March 3rd, I will need to register with something called ebay managed payments or no longer be able to sell.  Well, March 3rd finally arrived.  Now I am blocked from selling.  So, I went to sign up as requested...

The first page of the sign-up required I give them my SSN.  I have never given that out to anyone other than required government entities, and have always been told to never give it out over the internet.  That would be just another server waiting to be hacked and have the SSN stolen.  And I don't know what other personal info they want of me after that, because I couldn't get past the first page.  So, am I finally going to have to part ways with ebay after all these years because I'm protecting my SSN?

Message 1 of 84
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: Ebay won't let me sell here any more :(

yep, you are if you don't give the SS............  It's because of the money transferring......you had to give it to paypal also......  It's a gov't regulation. 

View Best Answer in original post

Message 2 of 84
latest reply
83 REPLIES 83

yep, you are if you don't give the SS............  It's because of the money transferring......you had to give it to paypal also......  It's a gov't regulation. 

Message 2 of 84
latest reply

The SSN is for tax purposes.  It had been that Paypal had this information for tax documents (form 1099-K) but with managed payments eBay will now be doing so.  I will be doing the same when I go into managed payments.  On my 1099-K form, incidentally, my SSN is redacted to the last 4 digits.