cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebay is misrepresenting insurance coverage via Allstate's "Square Trade"

I noticed that Ebay is making false and misleading claims when Sellers sell electronics and clearly mark them as "used." When you click on the Square Trade 1-Year protection plan, the plan states that it covers

"Covers drops, spills & accidents"

However, when you click on the "Learn More" link, they state:

"Accidental damage: Unless an Accidental Damage Protection Plan is purchased, items that are accidentally damaged are not covered - such as liquid damage, or cracked screens."

Now, I am not a lawyer, but this clearly seems to be false misrepresentation of claims via Ebay for including an insurance policy that reads that specific claims only apply to "new" items when the front-page listing for "used items" is showing that the 1 year coverage does cover "Covers drops, spills & accidents."

Also, the "square trade" plans themselves have an abysmal 1.24 rating on sitejabber with many people posting that their claims were denied or they had huge issues making claims.

Personally, I don't have any skin in the game, but when a seller makes a used listing on Ebay and is unable to disable the add-on sale of insurance that is not made in good faith, it can make the seller look bad.

I plan to show this to my lawyer later this week and then forward it off to the Maryland State Attorney General to see if this falls under unfair and fraudulent sales practices.

I find it silly that Ebay would even align themselves with such a horrible service but more importantly, I don't want that shown on things I list for sale via Ebay when buyers could easily blame me for the insurance issues.

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Ebay is misrepresenting insurance coverage via Allstate's "Square Trade"

I  have seen square trade around for a long time

I am not surw what the association is with ebay