cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EBAY NOW REQUIRING PHOTO ID BY 8/18/2023

I don't know about the rest of you, but I think eBay has enough of my private information.  I've been selling on eBay for 24 years! They have my bank account, paypal, credit cards, address, email, phone number and date of birth. Why on earth do they need a photo ID?

I draw the line here. If 24 years counts for nothing then I quit!

I will close my eBay store.  This is the straw that breaks me!  I'm done. EBay now charges the highest fees and commissions of all the other venues.  They have been DICTATING how I am allowed to run my own business for over 24 years.

Message 1 of 34
latest reply
33 REPLIES 33

Re: EBAY NOW REQUIRING PHOTO ID BY 8/18/2023

Where are you getting this from?

I don't see anything in the seller announcements and I've never been notified by eBay. 

Message 2 of 34
latest reply

Because of the INFORM act.

"The INFORM Act represents a legislative effort to protect consumers from unknowingly purchasing stolen, counterfeit, or unsafe consumer products from online sellers. With a June 27, 2023 compliance deadline, operators of online marketplaces should start taking steps to comply with its mandates."

KrazzyKats
Volunteer Community Mentor

Message 3 of 34
latest reply

They sent me an email plus a red banner now appears over my eBay sales page.

Message 4 of 34
latest reply

Not an 'eBay' thing; is the requirement of the IRS, Homeland Security...whoever/whatever. Ebay could NOT CARE LESS about collecting this info. 

I had to give a photo id 2 years ago. 

'Drawing the line' just sounds like silliness to me....a bit of "cut off your own nose to spite your face'. 

Message 5 of 34
latest reply