cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it safe to sell & ship overseas?

I am relatively new to Selling, and just had an item that was sold (Buy It Now) to someone in Russia even though I had "ship to the United States" on the listing. This Buyer's address was in the cyrillic alphabet, and was requesting an invoice for the item. I phoned Ebay and they helped me cancel the sale, but I've been thinking about it, and wondering if it really is safe to sell items allover the world, what are the potential risks, how would I protect myself as a Seller, is it worth the extra trouble and what are the special handling needs required?

If anyone has any experience (good and/or bad) with this matter, please feel free to respond. Thanks.

Message 1 of 32
latest reply
31 REPLIES 31

Re: Is it safe to sell & ship overseas?

I would say it is... some markets are too good to missed but then it also depends on what you're selling i guess. Better do the math before start selling/ shipping overseas for sure! I can't be bothered so just had a company does it for me lol

Message 16 of 32
latest reply

If something goes wrong ebay never backs sellers.

Message 17 of 32
latest reply

Ebay could give a rats ass about us sellers and we are the ones that make it all happen!
Message 18 of 32
latest reply

"lose"
Message 19 of 32
latest reply

I am a byuer from Serbia. When I buy stuff from US I can see every step of delivery process, from your door to mine. Don't you see the same tracking history as I do?
It seem unlikely that Italy or Hungary are less advanced in postal services ( could be, I'm just wondering)
Message 20 of 32
latest reply

wrote:
I am a byuer from Serbia. When I buy stuff from US I can see every step of delivery process, from your door to mine. Don't you see the same tracking history as I do?
It seem unlikely that Italy or Hungary are less advanced in postal services ( could be, I'm just wondering)

Hello,