cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shipping charges versus costs

I'm still a newbie here in the eBay land, but I have noticed on a few items we actually lost money in the shipping, using eBay's system.  They know where I am, they know where the customer is, who the shipper will be and can get the rate.  They add on their processing fee - so why can't they charge the customer at least a break-even for the seller, or let the seller make 5-10% on the shipping?  Seems like they want to keep the freight charges low at our expense.  So now everything I list is higher than it would be, just to cover that, and the customers have no idea why the price is "high" or offer/counter offers are tight.  -- Chip

Message 1 of 24
latest reply
23 REPLIES 23

Re: Shipping charges versus costs

@inhawaii wrote:

I've never used calculated shipping.

I figure out what the shipping will be before I list a item then charge MORE than that amount for shipping.....

Since you're shipping from Hawaii, nearly all of your US buyers will be in postage Zone 8.

For sellers on the mainland, choosing a flat shipping price is much more difficult. The online postage cost to mail a 3-pound package via Priority Mail ranges from $8.42 to $18.45.

Message 16 of 24
latest reply

@simply-the-best-for-you wrote:

@iamalwaysright wrote:

On a related topic, it would be nice if ebay allowed you to add a handling fee or whatever you would call it "markup fee" that you can add onto all of your listings either by percent or set amount. It's not to say you can't do this yourself through other means or workarounds. But having that "markup section" would give us more control in pricing when prices and fees change.