cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebay Is Now A Useless Entity

I've been using Ebay for 20 years. Last item I auctioned Ebay decided I was a "new" user so I later found out they'd hold money for a sold item for a few weeks "just because" to be sure the buyer was happy. This despite my 100% positive rating but that's not what this is about. This is about an international sale, for which I'd set up the item. When it sold to a buyer in Japan Ebay instructed that I offer buyer shipping options so going through Ebay's own menu system I found that UPS Worldwide (I forget the exact name of it) was $117. In fact I sent the buyer a screen shot showing the choices through UPS and he decided. So he was invoiced for the final bid amount plus shipping and he paid. But when I went to generate a shipping label my only choice was USPS. Ebay chat session person said I'd only signed up for USPS but I don't remember where I did any such thing, or was given a clear option to choose what services I'd use for shipping and I certainly would NEVER have made USPS my only option.  Ebay said it could not change this once the sale was made, which of course is ABSURD. When I went to my personal UPS account the amount for shipping the same way had ballooned to more than $328. I told the buyer who'd already paid me the $117 that I'd split the difference between the $117 and $328 and he thanked me for offering but instead chose to cancel the whole thing, and I don't blame him. I'm totally done with selling anything on Ebay. What a total waste of my time and the buyer's time. If this is how you sell things on the Internet and like it, be my guest. I'm done. That they couldn't get this sale to go through their shipping system via UPS is absurd and furthermore that the shipping choices were not more clearly laid out and explained at the outset especially because once set, they are set in stone for the transaction, is absurd as well.

Message 1 of 4