cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Millions" of buyers?

Can someone explain this?

Ebay maintain there are "millions" of buyers out there (I haven't read the specs as to how MANY at any one time) "looking to buy"

Ok.....maybe.

How come then, when I advertise a popular matchbox car in MINT condition and in a MINT original box at far LESS  than other listings, do I see NO views after several days?  I've been selling on eBay for more than twenty years and noticed declining sales for over a decade, as well as declining prices - especially in the vintage-model car arena. There WAS a time during specifically the 2007-2015 period that I would see 15-20 views within half an hour of listing similar collectibles. It was not unusual for a buyer to be fighting off 6-8 other bidders in the last hours of an auction.  Cars that went for $300 plus then......now go for $120 or less.  This is because auction buyers leave it literally to the last few seconds, knowing full well, there won't be time for the price to escalate much.  To try and avoid this, one takes the "Buy It Now' route, in the hope of receiving a fair price, which is invariably pointless, as buyers these days know they can rip off auctioners at the end of an auction far cheaper!  Consequently I've noticed a great many Buy It Now items available for weeks on end - including my own!

Seems to me IMPOSSIBLE statistically,  that with even one million "buyers" on site, ANY listing in this category, would invoke NO views in several days.  Only reasons I can think are:

(a) There are NOT "millions" of buyers looking to buy, or

(b) The majority of these buyers are prevented from SEEING  the listing for whatever reason