cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are so many people so cheap these days?

I thought it was only at yard sales and on Craigslist that shoppers want everything for nothing.  I am findng the same mentality on eBay now.   I have been selling for about 10 years through various avenues and have never seen anything like this.  Have a brand new in package $175 quilt for sale on Craigslist (right now won't even think about listing it on eBay because of shipping costs) and am asking only $40.  Email I get yesterday only asks, "How low will you go?"  Really?  I know some people like this "game," but I am really tired of all the lowball offers.  

Message 1 of 225
latest reply
224 REPLIES 224

Re: Why are so many people so cheap these days?

southern*sweet*tea wrote: 
ummm, decline and block?  Auto-reject?

If you lose money on a sale, how can it be the buyer's fault?

Agreed: set your Make Offer limits for auto-reject below a certain point, and maybe auto-accept above a higher one, and then the only ones you'll see are those that fall within the boundaries of the haggle zone that you've defined. 

I had a pleasant surprise in my buying account last week: I sent what I thought would be a good but rather low opening offer, setting it one cent above a nice, round price figure in case my competition offered the same number, but instead of the expected counteroffer (or refusal) from the seller, I apparently hit just above his auto-accept threshold, and the widget was immediately mine. Sweet.

Message 76 of 225
latest reply

How does one determine fair market value? I've always wondered about that...

Message 77 of 225
latest reply