cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What, exactly, is included in ebays final value fees?

I know the items selling price and shipping charges.  But do sales tax get included?  I ask because last month was horrendous for me in sales.  So much, ebay  took money out of my  bank account to cover their charges.

My gross was a lousy $151.00. My net after they took their share was $39.18. That net does NOT include my cost of goods.   Looking back through my records, I have been losing money for the last 8 months.

My bank statement shows, without buying merchandise), has been dropping steadily for 8 months, instead of increasing.

HHHHHHEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLP_P_P_P_P_P_P_P_P_P_P_P_P_, I am drowning.

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

If you have been losing money for 8 months and just now noticed that, you need to stop and change everything about your business plan. 

View Best Answer in original post

Message 10 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

I know the items selling price and shipping charges.  But do sales tax get included?

@bargainbasement101 

Yes... FVFs are imposed on the total sale. Item + s&h + sales tax (if applicable). 

Message 2 of 12
latest reply

it is charged on the complete sale price . Price + shipping + Tax

Message 3 of 12
latest reply

per a "help &contact" search

Selling fees | eBay

Message 4 of 12
latest reply

What's included in eBay final value fees?

kitchen sink.jpg

Message 5 of 12
latest reply

One example from your store that also doesn't help with 'bleeding money':

https://www.ebay.com/itm/225767281465

$3.99 + free shipping.

3.99 sale price

0.28 sales tax (based on 7%)

----

4.27 is what a buyer would pay.

-4.26 (estimated from WA to NC) 4 oz Ground Advantage

-0.57 FVF

-0.30 per transaction fee.

------

-0.86 LOSS

And that doesn't even include CoGs.

Message 6 of 12
latest reply