cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What do I do with the sales/sales tax collected by eBay?

This is my first quarter as a seller, and I am confused about the remittance of sales tax to the state on my behalf.

I live in Pennsylvania and I am required to report sales quarterly.

If eBay collects sales tax and remits it to the state on my behalf do I have to report the income when reporting quarterly sales?

Is this something I leave out because eBay has already submitted the payment for this income?

I am talking about strictly sales tax. I know income tax is a whole other barrel of laughs.

The Department of Revenue for PA couldn't effectively answer my question as they said eBay couldn't remit sales tax on my behalf.

However, everything I read says that is exactly what happens. I don't want to get stuck paying a late fee or a fine for misunderstanding.

Thank you in advance, I am a total noob.

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@fuzzyloops 

If you look at the details of the payment, you'll see that the sales tax was paid by the buyer, you paid fees on the full amount of the buyer's payment, and then, once the fees are deducted, you can see that ebay deducted that sales tax amount from your account and they will forward it to the buyer's state Department of Revenue.

You don't need to do anything.

ETA: Sales tax also won't be included on the 1099K you will receive. 

albertabrightalberta
Volunteer Community Mentor

View Best Answer in original post

Message 3 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

EBay collects and disburses state sales tax when needed for me.  I do nothing.

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

@fuzzyloops