cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USA only seller- bidders are all from foreign countries?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to selling on eBay, and have noticed that a lot of bidders/buyers on my items (probably at least 80%) appear to be located outside the US and using freight forwarders. I've seen a few posts about these potentially being scams, and am not sure what to do about it. I've cancelled a few orders already but it's hard to when the ONLY people bidding on every item you sell are all using this method!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

People post when they are unhappy. This goes for the Seller Board and for those Yelp reviews for forwarders whose customers (not the forwarder) are sketchey.

The forwarder is the second* most secure address you can have when selling by mail order.

• EBay only requires Proof of Delivery to the forwarder's address. After that responsibility for delivery is with the forwarder.
  • Not often mentioned, but most forwarders are also handling customs brokerage for their clients, so the eBay seller does not have to deal with the "held at customs" scam.
  • If the customer opens a Not As Described dispute, the eBay seller is only required to provide a Return Shipping Label to the forwarder's address. And if the overseas customer does not return the disputed item, he loses the NAD and cannot leave feedback.
  • Now -- if the GSP is not involved, but the buyer uses a freight forwarder, does the seller provide Return Shipping from the forwarding address or from the buyer's address?
    Oooh this is a good clarification question @femmefan1946! A seller is only required to provide return shipping from the buyer's input address at time of checkout - that goes for any return where a seller provides shipping ('free' returns, etc).
     https://community.ebay.com/t5/Selling/All-Items-Are-Free/m-p/31966203#M1772511