cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Received strange offer on item, scam?

Hello, I posted an antique book with a starting bid of $100 yesterday and today I received an offer of $350. I have attached a screenshot of the message I received from the potential buyer, I'm a little worried that this could be a scam considering that I am new to eBay. The buyer also created the account yesterday. 

IMG_2681 2.jpg

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

Re: Received strange offer on item, scam?

SCAM !!!!  WILL SEND YOU A FAKE PAYMENT RECIEPT !!!!  

ADD TO BLOCK BUYER LIST AND MOVE ON

Message 2 of 21
latest reply

Also,  I recommend you do not ship an expensive book by media mail.  

Message 3 of 21
latest reply

oh, yes.........absolutely a scam........  Key is the "texting"..........you will get a fake email that says the item is paid for.......they will be trying to fool you into shipping.........  Good catch.....

amazing this is going on now with books.......

Message 4 of 21
latest reply

Thank you! This is a bummer, I had gotten my hopes up but I'm glad that I caught it before it was too late. Also, the user is no longer registered. 

Message 5 of 21
latest reply

Thank you for the advice, I have changed it. 

Message 6 of 21
latest reply

Yeah. this is a scammer. You don't need to focus on these emails. Only see who's emails which you order something.

Message 7 of 21
latest reply

SCAM.  As a new seller with high value listings you will attract a lot of scammers.  I suggest you only list low, say under 25.00 items until you build up some feedback.  Most legit buyers won't bid much on new unproven sellers anyway.

Message 8 of 21
latest reply