cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Aid Package from Congress is Near Useless for Ebay Self-Employed?

I know a lot of people on eBay sell part-time or just for a side hustle and don't depend on it for serious money, but I do. I'm a full-time caregiver for an elderly parent who is too frail to be left on her own and my only way of making money has been to source items at thrift stores to sell online. I get an hour here or there to leave the house, no more. I haven't been selling long on Ebay but I've been selling clothing for a couple of years now on another site, which shall remain unnamed. This is my sole income.

Now, during the Coronovirus lockdowns (which may go on for 10-12 weeks) all thrift stores in my area have closed. I've already listed everything I have to list and my sales are slowing down as a consequence. We literally live sale to sale. If I make a sale, I get to go buy something we need at the store. I scrimp and save little bits to add up for utilities.

I was hoping that the aid package Congress is working on would be some help, but from what I'm reading, there's nothing in it for the self-employed, especially those surviving at the low end. If I'm lucky, I might qualify for the $1000 direct payment, but how do they expect that to last people for up to 3 months? 

Message 1 of 79
latest reply
78 REPLIES 78

Re: New Aid Package from Congress is Near Useless for Ebay Self-Employed?

This is the big hangup, as it should be. I don't care what your political affiliation is, as hobbyist/small business sellers on here, none of us should be in support of a bill that pushes tons of cash to huge corporations while cloaking the specifics for six months. 

Big corporations don't exactly have a sterling track record for how they utilize these bailout funds.