cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Negative Feedback - What would you have done?

I have 20+ years of buying and selling experience, sent nearly 1,300 packages and have maintained 100% positive feedback.  

I recently sold a $23 Funko Pop (free shipping) to a buyer with no feedback. Details are as follows:

- Shipped within one day to buyer.

- Entered tracking number in auction. 
- Tracking number indicated “out for delivery” in the morning but was later marked “returned to sender - addressee unknown” later in the day. 
- Buyer had reached out to me during holiday travel to mention this. 
- Subsequently left me a negative stating “package was returned, address was correct”. 
- Admittedly, I was a bit skeptical since I had heard of buyers opening packages and sealing back up - then returning to sender. But I waited for the package to return. 
- While it was in transit, I reached out to eBay support, and the rep told me not to worry about it. Negative feedback was not warranted. 
- I sent a revision request, which apparently now goes directly to the buyer, asking feedback be removed since  the return was done by the post office. 
- Buyer responded in note, stating to resend the package once received, and feedback would be updated. 
- Package was received, and the address used was indeed correct. 
- I spoke to the manager at the post office and he needed to determine why the carrier returned the package before another delivery attempt was made.  Postulated that buyer may not live at the address. 
- The next business day, I contacted the post office, the manager was not in that day. 
- Called the next day, manager states that he has not heard back yet, but after my urging, agreed to resend that day.
- Update sent to buyer with details, he responds with “if it’s not sent today - refund”. 
- Later that day, package resent with new tracking number. 
- I decide to issue a full refund due to all of this mess. Refund completed.