cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Buyer send back a different item

Help. This is my first time selling on ebay. The buyer ask for a return after a week. I accepted the return, buyer then send back a different item. I have a video of myself opening the box showing it was a different item. What can I do? I haven't refund the buyer yet. I called ebay coustumer service and they do nothing. Will ebay force me to refund the buyer?

Message 1 of 55
latest reply
54 REPLIES 54

Re: Help! Buyer send back a different item

Fwiw, your best option asap is go to the "ebay for business" facebook page and post your story.  First time seller, victim of fraud, counted on statements on the site about seller protection, called c-s asked for help - got no help. Share your story over there.     

Message 16 of 55
latest reply

gopetersen
Rockstar
  • If the buyer is in another state, file a Fraud Report with the FBI.
  • File a fraud report with the buyer's local police station (you can find it online).
  • File a Fraud Report with USPS even if you used a different carrier (USPS accepts fraud reports from all carriers).

These reports are serious business, it's defamation if you are mistaken, so you MUST be 100% certain that you have been scammed and it is not a misunderstanding, so contact the buyer at least once and ask what happened and KEEP that message (and the buyer's reply) for your files.

A friend of mine got scammed when he was a new seller (scammers deliberately look for new sellers) and I helped him look up the names of relatives and neighbors online and then we contacted him and told him we were going to inform his parents (the buyer turned out to be in his early 20s) and local authorities and my friend managed to get his item back. It doesn't always work and I do NOT like spying on people online but this was definitely a scam and I don't like thieves.

Message 17 of 55
latest reply