cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why all of a sudden does ebay need our Social Security Number?

Why all of a sudden does ebay need our Social Security Number? I have been selling since 1999 and as though with their high selling fees and now paying taxes isn't bad enough now they want our social security number. I have deleted all my selling items because of this. This is deceitful and unnecessary, and never needed before. I obviously, like several other sellers cannot get a respond out of ebay. Maybe because they know its Illegal and not needed and hurting sellers trying to make a living.

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Re: why all of a sudden does ebay need our Social Security Number?

Facebook Marketplace? BINGO! What a great idea, thanks! I may have sold my last item on eBay thanks to your comment!

Message 16 of 26
latest reply

2 years ago I sold an item for $700, which went to my paypal account.  A day later someone withdrew $500 from a paypal enabled ATM.   I spent hours on the phone with paypal and they refused to help.  Paypal like Ebay is not a financial institution and does not have the same protection for consumers such as banks do.  After a letter to the california attorney general I got my $500 back.  I immediately closed my paypal account.  I was happy when Ebay added my bank account as direct payment.  I set up a small account for Ebay.  But there is absolutely no way in hell as a private seller that I would trust a non bank online company with my SSN.  They have been hacked before.   That risk is not worth the $1000-$2000 that I make in sales (already with taxes).  Marketplace for me.

Message 17 of 26
latest reply

This is mainly due to eBay's managed payment program and for tax purposes.

Message 18 of 26
latest reply

Paypal does not require a ssn.

Message 19 of 26
latest reply

@ralphmonster wrote:

Paypal does not require a ssn.