cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using person checking accounts for payments will end small sellers using ebay

darrenli1984
Adventurer

I have been buying and selling on ebay since 1998.  I do not have a business that sells on ebay, I just sell the occasional item like my kids' used musical instruments.  I am currently trying to list my daughter's French horn which is about $2000.  I discovered that the only way to get paid now is to provide ebay with my checking account.  That will never happen.  Requiring bank account information will kill individual sellers on ebay.  When I am on ebay trying to buy something, I am looking for an individual selling items they no longer need.  I am not looking for a company selling their products as a business.  I currently have a balance of less than $100 because a couple of months ago I sold a difficult to find Vitamix switch.  It sold but that money is sitting in my account with no way to get it.  I can't use it for credit on any purchases and ebay will not put it in PayPal.  Clearly ebay is trying to merge into an Amazon model and get away from people like you and me buying and selling their stuff.  I hope ebay reverts back to the previous model and allow small sellers to continue.  

Message 1 of 36
latest reply
35 REPLIES 35

Re: Using person checking accounts for payments will end small sellers using ebay

It's doubtful that eBay will revert back to the previous model, i.e., Paypal.

There are still many, many small sellers here doing well.  

Most people probably have opened a separate checking account for the sole purpose of depositing their eBay funds.  

Message 2 of 36
latest reply

Re: Using person checking accounts for payments will end small sellers using ebay