cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Partial refund for an abusive buyer

I have been selling for over 20 years on eBay and am VERY careful  to be accurate on descriptions and photos. The buyer (with zero feedback) claimed the item was not as pictured or described and eBay ok'd a refund. It was exactly as described, and I would have just given the refund - but the item was returned damaged. He even admitted he damaged it (I think also used it as it's NOT in the same shape as shipped) and then threatened a bad feedback  if I didn't settle for just a  $5 deduction in the refund which doesn't even cover the return shipping I paid let alone a devalued item. I will give him a reduced refund but the refund option is only for a full refund. I can't change the amount. I did report him as an abusive buyer but am still requested to give the refund.

Here is his reply to me - "Please refund and deduct $5. Otherwise I will dispute the charge. Yes you displayed stuff in pix but I had no idea that it was merely a course schedule and some loose sheets v a trading manual that explains procedures for flying the citation. Maybe be clearer. If the cover is slightly torn it is because it was not packaged properly for shipment. How did I know when I opened it that it was so fragile. Give it a rest dude and give me a refund. I could write a crap review which I will do. I don’t care about your great other reviews. This is not what I expected. Thanks. And geez…chill out."

How do I give a partial refund?

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: Partial refund for an abusive buyer

I often instantly cancel purchases for ZERO feedback buyers for self preservation.

If the buyer threatens you with feedback blackmail you must report them to eBay.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 5 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11