cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eBay is Charging an International fee on a domestic address?!

Hi. I'm relatively new at this. Well, I used to sell on eBay before, but it was many, many years ago. I'm hoping to get some advice and feedback on a shipping situation I find myself in. So on my eBay listings I only offer domestic shipping. I received an international fee from eBay on one of my sold items. The reason given for said fee is that the buyer's main address is located in another country.  Now the ship to address that I'm being provided is a domestic address. I know a couple of people to have had the same situation arise and each time that they went ahead and shipped the item they end up with the buyer claiming the item was broken when it arrives. Now they are out of the money and the product.   Has anyone else experienced this? Can I cancel the buyer's order and refuse shipment?  Thank you for your time..  

Crystal
Message 1 of 16
latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

Re: eBay is Charging an International fee on a domestic address?!

You could cancel using reason problem with buyer's address.

What you have encountered is a foreign buyer using a US based freight forwarder.   The reason you get hit with the foreign transaction fee is the buyer is paying with a foreign currency.

Not all such foreign buyers are scammers.  I have sold many items that way and never had a problem but then I was selling in a very low scam category.   YMMV.

Message 2 of 16
latest reply

You can't really use the problem with buyer's address - they've provided a valid US address for shipment, which abides by your listing requirements. You can get away with it, but if sellers continue to use this option when they just don't want to ship an item, we are going to lose this option for cancelling in legitimate situations.