cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

International purchase, sealed collector's item, customs

Dear ebay members,

I'm a novice and would like to expand my collection; about to have my first international purchase on ebay, so pardon for the question: how do customs handle such item? Would they "butcher" it, tear original seal, unbox and repack?

Thank you very much!

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Re: International purchase, sealed collector's item, customs

It is examined by x-ray, and will only be opened and resealed with official tape if something needs to be removed.
Message 2 of 11
latest reply

Great response! TYVM.
Message 3 of 11
latest reply

Entirely possible they will open anything and everything.

I sold a new sealed Dark Tower (1981) board game and Canadian costoms opened the box  and every bag of sealed parts.

Buyer was hot...

Message 4 of 11
latest reply

I'm quite discouraged now. slight_frown

Don't want to take the risk and have the seller lose his/her well earned money, but I don't want to accept receiving something less than what I paid for either; so the best option would be to wait for another, non-international opportunity (that may never come). What a bummer.

Thank you for the response.

Message 5 of 11
latest reply

@istvaerde0 wrote:

Dear ebay members,

I'm a novice and would like to expand my collection; about to have my first international purchase on ebay, so pardon for the question: how do customs handle such item? Would they "butcher" it, tear original seal, unbox and repack?

Thank you very much!

I think It depends on where You are buying from. Living in the USA I have never had a package opened from an international sale. USA customs does not check anything less than $200. I think If the item is going TO USA and is less than $200. you would have no problem.

Message 6 of 11
latest reply

I'm in Europe wanting to order from US...

Message 7 of 11
latest reply