cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with return request on $995 handbag that buyer resold

I sold a Louis Vuitton bag on 6/23. Buyer then resold it herself on August 10th. Her buyer opened a return request saying it didn’t seem authentic. My buyer then opened a return request to me saying it didn’t seem authentic. 

There is no question the bag is authentic as I am an expert in Louis Vuitton authentication having been in the business of buying, selling and authenticating LV for almost 25 years. In fact, years ago, my company provided authentication letters for not only eBay, but for PayPal, credit card companies and insurance companies. I still do this on occasion. 

I tried to explain to the buyer that the bag was authentic, offered a letter of authenticity, offered to pay for a third party authentication of her choosing and even offered to buy it back from her at the price she sold it to her buyer for. I can easily resell it again but I wouldn’t pay her the full amount of the original sale because it was sold to her in new condition and it’s no longer in new condition.

She basically replied that yes, she sold it to someone else and that they are returning it and that she will “compare” it to her other LV bags when she gets home this evening. That’s all. No mention of my offer to provide an authentication letter, a third party authentication or my offer to buy it back from her. 

Does anyone one have any advice for me in this situation? 

Message 1 of 135
latest reply
134 REPLIES 134

Unless you have chosen to offer a 60-day return policy, the buyer is long past the time when she could return the item.  Coverage under eBay's buyer protection policy ( the "Money back guarantee") expires 30 days after the package is delivered. She could still file a claim with PayPal, but considering your credentials, plus the fact that the item is no longer in original condition, she might lose that claim.