cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer paid contractor to install item but unhappy with color, wants partial refund

Hi all. I'm kind of at a loss for what to do on this one... Ive been selling for about 8 months, a little over 1000 transactions, and fortunately have had very few issues with buyers. I sold a ceiling fan last week, as 'New - Open Box'. Which was accurate - all internal packaging in tact, all components still individually wrapped i  celophane/padding, hardware bags still sealed, and molded styrofoam undamaged.

For the listing image i took a close-up photo of the product image printed on the outside of the box.

The buyer contacted me saying he was very disappointed because the glass globe in the image was tan/pale yellow, but now that its installed the globe looks more white in color. I apologized and offered that he return for a refund but he said he paid an electrician to install it and would have to pay him again to uninstall it, and asked for a partial refund to buy a different globe.

I did check the globe to make sure it was not broken before shipping, but did not notice that the color might have been different. I called the manufacturer and they do not sell that fan in any other color schemes, so i do not know how he could have received anything different from the photo.

I asked for a picture of the installed fan but he has not sent one. 

Where i messed up, is when he suggested a partial to replace the globe, i said that i would consider it, depending on price, because ultimately i want to try to take care of my customers, and i was imagining it might be $10 at Lowes. Now, the only replacement globe available is $50. I sold the fan for $90 with free shipping so after fees etc i probably barely made $50 on it. Id rather just have it returned and re-sell it

I checked his feedback history, specifically left for others, and there were no real red flags of being an unscrupulous buyer.