cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's with all the Ordered by Mistake Cancellations...................

I have been selling on ebay for over 20 years, and could count on one hand all the buyer "ordered by mistake" cancellations prior to 2022.   This month I have had 5.    Is this an ebay glitch or just buyer indecision? 

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17

I do not think it is just ebay.

I and one recently on amazon, buyer buys 3 of the same  widgets then a couple minutes later 2 more of the same previous widget.

2 weeks later return request "ordered the 2 widgets by mistake"

next day return request "ordered the 3 widgets by mistake."

Message 2 of 18
latest reply

Fortunately, all the buyer cancellations this month have occurred before I have had time to ship.   And except for a book -  all the items have been vintage collectibles without identical items found on ebay.

Message 3 of 18
latest reply

Had 2 this month.  Minutes after buying.

Which is annoying as e-Bay shows a Buyer "similar" items as soon as they buy.  Except often, they are not.

Like you, just grateful had not shipped.

....... "The Ranger isn't gonna like it Yogi"......... Boo-Boo knew what he was talking about!

Posting ID Only.......
Yes, I have no Bananas, only Flamethrowers.......
Message 4 of 18
latest reply

@katzrul15 

worst is right when you print the label for shipping and a minute later you get the cancel request

😠

Message 5 of 18
latest reply

@kathieskorner wrote:

Is this an ebay glitch . . . ? 

Exactly what kind of a "glitch" are you envisioning that would cause a buyer to cancel using "ordered by mistake?"

Message 6 of 18
latest reply

I'm pretty sure this is due to the fact that after buyers make a purchase, eBay immediately presents them with several options for the same item, usually at a lower price. They've done this for a while, but lately the items presented seem to be more targeted/specific.