cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

They are coming for you

What about that old Coke bottle you sold last week? The one you picked up at a flea market 4-5 years ago. Where's  the receipt? You will need to prove how much you paid for it.

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17

They are coming for you

@johnwhiplash   Doubtful ... 

Regards,
Mr. Lincoln - Community Mentor
Message 2 of 18
latest reply

They are coming for you

I shred all my paperwork. They can't prove a thing.

Message 3 of 18
latest reply

They are coming for you

Suggest you READ up as to how report on income taxes rather than spread false information...............

Message 4 of 18
latest reply

They are coming for you

Hi @johnwhiplash 

When I was audited MANY years ago ... when I was a student (and NOT a seller) ... the IRS was accepting 'hand-written records' in lieu of certain receipts.  If you looked like you kept regular records of costs and expenditures ... it was accepted.

The audit actually was a very interesting experience ... and not at all terrifying ... but, then, I was very young.   *sigh*   [Even though I ended up writing a check for a few dollars (<$5) ... I must have done okay, as I was never audited again.]

To anyone having the 'They are coming for you!' nightmares ... I STRONGLY recommend you speak to a tax accountant at least once.  Ask THEM what records you need to keep to be in compliance with current laws.  I'm sure it will ease your minds, rather than terrify you. 

Message 5 of 18
latest reply

They are coming for you

@house*of*paws   On a side note, the "sky has fallen" so many times around the world that we're all living in the clouds and don't even know it ... 

Mr. L

Regards,
Mr. Lincoln - Community Mentor
Message 6 of 18
latest reply

They are coming for you

EBAY partnered up with TaxAct.com which gives "free advise" to EBAY sellers on how to handle everything related to taxes (including your problem).