cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Refunds Through PayPal with Insufficient Funds

Well, I sure have a venting-type story today that might help someone out in the future with the same issue if they're reading this.

Sold a low value item on eBay for around $12. The buyer payed promptly with PayPal. He then messaged me, asking to cancel. I said sure, no problem. I'm not the type to be like "well, no refunds, sorry," especially if I haven't already shipped the item out yet, which I hadn't.

Now I've done this a million times, I'm not a newbie. I know how to issue refunds.

So I went first to eBay to cancel the item and issue a refund, selecting the reason "buyer changed his mind." I thought all was good. But a few minutes later, I received an e-mail from eBay that said: "You approved a refund request, but there was a problem issuing a refund from your payment account to the buyer. Please contact your payment provider, so they can help resolve the problem quickly."

I found this very odd. I have never recieved an email like this before just from trying to do a basic refund. So I said, screw it, I'll just issue a refund directly from PayPal. So I logged into PayPal, found the transaction, clicked "issue refund," and immediately got the error message: "We were unable to complete this payment. Please add funds to your PayPal account and try again." This is with the funds from the guy's payment still in my PayPal account, mind you!

At this point, I'm feeling dubious, because I know I'm going to have to start calling someone over a $12 refund.