cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Promotional Advertising Required

I have been selling on eBay for over 30 years. I have seen all the changes and even worked for them for 5 years. With that said, I have never seen my sales go from $3000.00 per month, with 1,000,000 impressions, to $900.00 and 340,000 impressions. Why, because I stopped my Advertising promotions. EBay is now pay to play platform . No pay, no impressions, less sales. Period.

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

@webrummage2014 

This has been posted more times than anything…and frankly sometimes I agree, and other I don’t. I experiment with different scenarios. I was doing a test and promotion at 10% and offering a 5% coupon. I had  60% less sales than before. As I have stated my sales are steady, but are nothing fantastic. 

I stopped promoting completely, offered a 20% coupon, and had a decent few days.  It is so annoying as the algorithm is such a mess, …to promote, not to promote, offer a markdown sale, offer a coupon..I don’t know what the answer is. 

I think we all try different things and who know the answer. I sure do not know. 

Message 2 of 15
latest reply

@webrummage2014 I'm not really a fan of PLS, but : the other way of looking at your example is: PL works , and it does increase your sales dramatically.

Now, of course, you are paying ebay more for the PLS sales, but does the increased sales velocity offset the extra cost? That's the question. 

Message 3 of 15
latest reply

I've tried using PL at 2% and using BO at 10%.

PL works better, and beyond that, while my PL items get more views, I still sell more non-PL items than PL items.

I think PL brings the boys to the yard, but they then look around and buy other stuff.

Since I only pay the 2% when something sells, this strikes me as a Good Deal.

Message 4 of 15
latest reply