cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Chargeback Scam with Raw Sports Cards

I have been selling on eBay since 1999 and had the pleasure of dealing with my first chargeback. Unfortunately, it was for a $2000 sports card. 

-Buyer orders item on Jan 5th. Item is delivered.

-Buyer messages me requesting a return on Feb 19th, because after receiving, they send the raw card to PSA for grading, received a grade they didn't like, and then claimed the item was not as described. They even showed me photos on the slabbed, and in this case altered, card.

-After speaking with eBay, they told me I can choose not accept the return since the buyer is outside of the acceptable window and that the item was altered.

-buyer opens a chargeback dispute on Feb 20.

-eBay advises me of what data and evidence to provide so they can fight the case.

-the buyer's bank rules in his favor on April 23rd. I lose $2000 and do not get the card back.

-eBay tells me that I am not eligible for seller protection, even though I followed policy and did nothing wrong.

So, to summarize, the new scam is purchase raw card, submit for grading, get a bad grade, then get refunded and keep the card. eBay will provide you no protection. And before some of you say I should have accepted the return, it was outside of the eBay window. Even when I have accepted returns, and there was buyer damage to the item, eBay has NEVER sided with me when I opened a case that the return item was not in the same condition.