cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

International buyers using freight forwarding companies

I am new to selling. Currently, I deal only with electronics, more specifically gaming electronics.

Initially this was not a problem, but lately it is becoming more of a headache and I feel overwhelmed as to what I should do to resolve this.

I do not do international sales, but I discovered that international buyers can get around this by using a freight forwarding company to purchase my items anyway.

I am weary of doing this and do not want to do this. I have been told that I can block these "non-US" Paypal payments through Paypal, but I cannot figure out how to do so. It appears it can ONLY be done via a Paypal business account, is that so? Also, when I inquired about signing up for a Paypal business account, the first thing it asks for is a "legal business name". Well I do not own a business so that stops me right there. Someone told me I could just "make one up", but that did not seem correct.

To further complicate matters, I did not learn until recently that simply cancelling these orders from international buyers using freight companies is NOT acceptable. I already have a few defects, and a since learning about this in the last few days another international buyer using a freight forwarding company has purchased my item. The Paypal payment is still pending, but I expect it will go through in the next few days.

To make matters even worse on top of all this, I checked the buyers ebay page and he has a new account, with only one feedback from a seller who is calling him a SCAMMER.

I feel I am really in over my head and with all these rules I feel like I must now choose: do I ship the item and risk being defrauded by someone who is very possibly a scammer OR do I give up selling all together on ebay and I am stuck with all this inventory??