cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extremely rude/insulting buyers

Hello. I’ve been buying and selling on eBay since 2001. I used to sell often but took a break for a few years and just recently started selling here and there again. All has been smooth minus a few slow deliveries during the holidays until very recently. Is it a new trend for buyers to be rude, demanding, insulting?

I had a small batch of packages that I was a few days late to ship. My infant daughter had the flu. This was 100% my responsibility and no fault of my buyers. I messaged all of the affected buyers and updated them when I shipped. All were friendly and understanding except 2. These two were very similar in their communication with me. Right after I updated that their package was shipped, they opened buyer protection cases with very short messages such as “refund my money now”. 

One even told me I should be ashamed of myself for using my child as an excuse to ship late. Both threatened my feedback if I didn’t refund. I am just in total shock over how people behave over a $12 pair of used yoga pants.  I refunded both to put a stop to the hateful messages and both have their packages delivered with no communication regarding them shipping back to me. Is this common now?  Threatening and being rude to get a refund and keep the product?  I just can’t beleive there are people out there willing to be so incredibly cruel to a stranger over a pair of pants that’s a little late. I almost don’t want to sell anymore.  These are two different buyers who purchased very similar items and very similar behavior from both which makes me wonder if this is what I can expect now...

Message 1 of 66
latest reply
65 REPLIES 65

Re: Extremely rude/insulting buyers

The fewer words you use to apologize, the better....
Message 31 of 66
latest reply