cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EBAY has a defect in their software that does not remove sold items.

I have filed many complaints repeatedly over the years about Ebay not removing sold unique items only showing ONE available.   So, after the unique item is sold Ebay leaves it in my store for someone else to buy what I do not have.  Ebay calls this my store's defect when it is their defective software.   I have been fighting over this issue for 10 years at least.  And it has done no good.  The error still pops up regularly causing Ebay to call it my store's defect when it is Ebay's defect.   Ebay then says my store is below standard and kills many of my best listings.  They put an artificial limit on what I can sell.  So, I'm backed up with potential sales that cannot be listed due to restrictions placed because of their wrongful assigning a defect to my store.   What can I do to finally get them to fix their system for removing items that are sold and gone forever.  Their system keeps saying that it is a restocking defect when the item is not restockable.  One of their technicians said  that Ebay has a way to disallow restocking of sold out items.  I'll be damned if I can find any such capability in Ebay listings.   

Message 1 of 23
latest reply
22 REPLIES 22

Re: EBAY has a defect in their software that does not remove sold items.

I have heard rumors of this "bug" for years.   I've been selling since 1997 & I have never once had it happen.  I am firmly convinced that these are user error & unfortunately there are many, many ways a user could accidentally do this, making it impossible for someone to diagnose without being in a place to observe said user.  

This one goes to Eleven - Nigel Tufnel

Simply-the-best-for-you Volunteer Community Mentor
eBay Seller since 1996

Message 16 of 23
latest reply

Could you provide any examples of listings that were duplicated?