cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you offer “Free Returns”?

I’ve been selling for several years, mostly vintage housewares, and shipping charges often add another 50% or more onto the total.  Also, I live in Oregon so anything that has to go east of the Rockies can also be quite expensive to ship.  I’ve recently started offering returns, buyer pays return shipping.  Those of you who offer “free returns”, does that mean you pay for the item to be returned to you?  I can’t see how that can possibly work out, financially, unless you’re selling post cards or something with very low shipping.  I’m interested in hearing how you do it.  Thanks.

Message 1 of 22
latest reply
21 REPLIES 21

Re: Do you offer “Free Returns”?

Yep.. It means seller pays for return shipping..

Frankly I don't see how they can do this- I think it isn't feasible for smaller sellers unless you have a high profit margin. 

~Pika~
People in life that are the happiest don't have the most,, they make the most of what they have...

Message 2 of 22
latest reply

No free returns. I also block them.

Message 3 of 22
latest reply

@kath.layn I have offered free returns since the program began. I average about 5 sales a day now but from the start of the pandemic I was selling 15-20 items every single day. I can still count on one hand the amount of returns I've EVER had on eBay. I actually had 2 returns in all of 2020, and none so far in 2021. 

Free returns doesn't equate to more returns, what it means is that if the buyer wants to return the item they can do so without any penalties. They are not "forced" to choose an alternative reason for a return. By removing the threat of having to pay for a return shipping label, buyers are not as quick to jump the gun and open INAD cases. It actually works in your benefit.