cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

December 2021 sales down 50% from prior years

How were your December sales?

Mine were down 50% from prior years.

I have been selling on ebay for 25 years so I do have the stats to prove that statement.

Now I have to dip into my savings account to pay my rent and heat my house.

Will the algorithm allow me to make that shortfall in sales up in January, probably not--speaking from experience.

So frustrating.

The rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

Message 1 of 27
latest reply
26 REPLIES 26

Re: December 2021 sales down 50% from prior years

Pretty bad, so far the worst year was 2021. I'd say about 85% down. In late December during the holidays I got a slight boost in sales. 

Message 16 of 27
latest reply

Not sure what to say.  My December started horrible and finished strong.  You do sell a lot of interesting items.

I always make sure my ebay income is so low that I don't rely on it for anything.

Message 17 of 27
latest reply

I hope ebay remains strong and not go the way of sites like ioffer. I know Amazon is dominant but people still like to use ebay to buy and sell. 

Message 18 of 27
latest reply

" sites like ioffer."

Add that to the list of sites I never heard of.

Message 19 of 27
latest reply

@jayjaspersgarage  ioffer was initially touted by some as an ebay killer, meaning it would replace ebay. It didn't work that way. it finally closed down in 2019 after running into a lot of trouble because it had become something of a haven for counterfeit items (like designer handbags)...Some may remember that Bonanza's founders claimed Bonanza would replace ebay, and even with a huge push from ecommercebytes, the site never got the traction it needed, and now seems to be mostly used by ebay sellers who cross post to the site.

Message 20 of 27
latest reply