cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer asking me to cancel

My auction (196258013768) ended Sunday. The buyer hadn't paid and contacted me today asking me to cancel the order because they just noticed there is a missing dangle on the brooch. The title, description, and photo all clearly note missing dangle.

I'm pretty frustrated by the request. I'm relatively new to the process. Is it best to just cancel it as requested to avoid an angry feedback from the buyer? Should the buyer be the one cancelling? How would those actions potentially negatively impact me?

Thanks for any advice!

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

I would cancel.

There is nothing to be gained by trying to push it to be bought, because then you may have to deal with a return anyway. Cancel while you have control of the item, its far better for you.

If they are making the request, its not going to affect your performance.  If they haven't paid, that makes it even better.  If they had paid, and you didn't ship it yet, you can refund them too and it won't count against you as the buyer is the one making the request.

It could have been an honest mistake, they might not have noticed the piece missing and realized it afterwards.  It happens.

You get pinched if you cancel due to out of stock or something, as that reflects badly on you.

Gator08041971  •  Volunteer Community Mentor 2024
Member of eBay since 2000

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Cancel the sale with the reason as "buyer requested".

Posting ID
Message 3 of 9
latest reply

Seller has to cancel, using buyer requested as the reason.....

Much better to cancel now..........  Even if you could (and you can't) force payment and then ship......you would be open to negs and a Not as Described Return.......for which you would have to pay......

Message 4 of 9
latest reply