cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any hair experts here?? Is Pantene really bad for your hair?

I have been told now by 2 different beauticians not to use Pantene and that it is really damaging to hair. I love the Pantene Pro-V conditioner for dry/damaged hair. Is it really that bad? It seems like the only conditioner that has done my hair good. I have long fine blonde hair. I recently got a perm and the beautician told me that it even could strip out my perm if I used it. I would really like some info on this if anyone knows anything about it. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Message 1 of 63
latest reply
62 REPLIES 62

I have been a licensed stylist for almost 30 years and here is something to ponder. The days of product lines being owned by many, many companies has long passed. There are very few dogs in the hunt now--a couple of companies own everything! Also...............many of the products come out of the same factory--just with different labels. I am a firm believer that shampoos are more alike than they are different. When you start to peel away all of the fluff and look at them from a chemical basis--they are sooooo similar in makeup. Why listen to me? I too am an educator for a multinational hair company--and the realtity is that some of what the stylists at the salon say is not true. Are they purposely lying to you? No! Honestly most of them don't really know--they believe what the sales rep or another stylist tells them and they just go from there. As far as Pantene goes--yes it is full of silicone--and silicone is a form of plastic and yes it coats the hair--but is it harmful---probably not. I suggest that all of my clients use a clarifying shampoo at least once a month--twice a month if you are a heavy product user--especially pastes and other waxing substances. These shampoos are more harsh and strip the old products out of the hair. Okay---now as to hair repairing its