cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebay adding $.03 to customer's invoice if sales tax is being collected by ebay?

As a retired accountant, I notice little things like a $.03 variance ebay shows on my item sale if the transaction has sales tax collected by ebay. Example- item $9.99, Shipping $5.62, I received $15.61. But the sales record shows 15.64 before the sales tax is added. This is the case with all such sales I checked where ebay added sales tax. FYI, when a business remits sales tax, they get a discount which means they get to keep some of the tax collected. If Ebay is charging customers and collecting the discount....bad dog...

Also, note some states charge the tax on both the purchase price and shipping. In these states (PA for example), Ebay adds $.03 like the others but then seems to deduct $.03 from the actual tax amount stated on the invoice (not visible to seller).

Customer service was supposed to have someone call me but doubtful anyone will...

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Ebay adding $.03 to customer's invoice if sales tax is being collected by ebay?

"FYI, when a business remits sales tax, they get a discount which means they get to keep some of the tax collected. If Ebay is charging customers and collecting the discount....bad dog..."

You should be aware that in many instances the new laws require the Market Place Facilitator to collect and remit the tax, not the seller. So IF there is any discount, eBay is entitled to it as they are the are the entity legally required to remit it. That is also the reason that the tax is charged as a separate transaction. They can not "roll" it into the transaction and then take those funds from the seller.
Message 2 of 6
latest reply

Re: Ebay adding $.03 to customer's invoice if sales tax is being collected by ebay?