cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cancelling order

I had won a bid on an item, but before I went to pay the seller contacted me telling me that they had lost the item and thought they had taken down the listing, but they can't sell it to me. Then they said they will cancel the order for me. I said ok and asked do I
need to put payment thru in order for them to cancel and all they said to me was they will cancel today without any other answer. I am pretty new to ebay and have never had a seller tell me this. What should I do in case they never do anything? I tried cancelling myself but since it is an auction, cancelling is not an option. Also, do I need to make a payment in order for them to cancel? The seller was no help in answering me and I don't know how it works on the seller's side.
Any help would be great. Thank you.
Message 1 of 61
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: Cancelling order

No, you do not need to make payment for them to cancel. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Always take a banana to a party, bananas are good! - Ten

View Best Answer in original post

Message 2 of 61
latest reply
60 REPLIES 60

No, you do not need to make payment for them to cancel. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Always take a banana to a party, bananas are good! - Ten
Message 2 of 61
latest reply

Ok thank you!!
Message 3 of 61
latest reply

So, if I make an offer and it's accepted, but then I get cold feet and change my mind, it's a huge No No. But if a seller accepts an offer, and then cancels it with some excuse ("lost the item, or a partner already sold it"...) it's not a big deal?
Is that correct? Because I'm new to buying, and I just had a seller do this to me.
Message 4 of 61
latest reply

@jan**pal** wrote: