cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Misunderstood or Misrepresented?

Hello. I was delighted to find this board exists from a note that was added to a description by Svengali. I am appalled at the lack of knowledge and misrepresentation of Bakelite buttons on eBay. I think I can pretty much tell a real one by the photo because I've had extensive experience with Bakelite. I was fooled recently and the Seller had no time for my attempts to tell her why her buttons were fakes. Now I'm going to read some of your posts. Congratulations on forming this group. ~Ribbons
Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Hi, welcome to the board. It isn't very active here, sorry for the delay in replying to your post. Sooner or later we'll get more members which will make this a more active place. I agree with you about the mislabeling of bakelite buttons, it is epidemic. I've talked to eBay about this and they have a problem pulling ads because they can't be sure I'm right and the seller is wrong. I have only suggested pulling ads a few times after extensive discussions with the seller pointing out the material they listed was not bakelite but some other easily identifiable plastic. In the long run I feel it's the bidder who has to be educated and know what they are bidding on. Mistakes can happen and we can also be fooled by images even with a lot of experience but those are the issues inherent to online bidding. It truly is "caveat emptor" out there. If you hang around the Vintage Sewing: Buttons area long enough you will see who lists bakelite buttons correctly and has great feedback. Bid with those folks.
Message 2 of 6
latest reply