cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about making head pins

scbeachlover
Enthusiast
Ok, I was told that you can make your own head pins with sterling or fine silver. The instructions were to use butane and place the wire into the flame until it forms a ball on the end. I gave this a try this morning, but I used my propane instead of butane. The sterling is discolored and I can't get the original shine back. Can anyone advise on the subject. Many Blessings, Laurie
Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

I'm no expert but it sounds like heat scale and they need to be pickled.
Message 2 of 14
latest reply

mysticafelicity
Enthusiast
Sterling always turns totally burned-black when you use the torch on it. Then it must be put into a "pickle" which is an acid like solution to remove the black ... but then it comes out looking "frosted" so it must be polished (VERY VERY annoying for small bits like headpins) solution: Use FINE silver (only costs about 10 percent more than sterling) this does not blacken and once your new headpin is cool, you can use it instantly.
Cathleen in Connecticut
artist, jewelrymaker and EXTREME bead addict
click the words at the top of my ME page to see links to my artwork and jewelry
Message 3 of 14
latest reply

scbeachlover
Enthusiast
Thank you sooooo much mystica!!!!! I hope I don't come across as a total nut, but will fine silver be listed as FINE silver or is there another name for this silver? I need to make a purchase. Please direct me! Many Blessings, Laurie
Message 4 of 14
latest reply

scbeachlover
Enthusiast
OPPS, What kind of pickling solution do you use for metal? I have seen some beautiful jewelery made from very odd pices of metal that had been pickled.
Message 5 of 14
latest reply