cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to do if I suspect a fake?

Hi Folks,

I was using n.s.sherlock's ebay article "Coin Fake Detection - Valid Trade Dollar Types" to check some trade dollars currently listed.  I found one that is very obviously a fake according to that document.  Obviously I will not bid on the item, but is it usual to then report the listing?  I'm pretty new to ebay, and am not a professional coin collector by any means, so I don't want to do the wrong thing here.

-femtolady

Message 1 of 27
latest reply
26 REPLIES 26

Re: What to do if I suspect a fake?

Report it.

BTW, Welcome! 

Message 2 of 27
latest reply

Hello,

The appropriate action would be to contact the seller and present your concerns. In the past I have had coin auctions pulled down because someone thought they were counterfiet. You can imagine the stress this causes to someone like myself who deals in millions of dollars worth of rare coins each month. My 20+ years as a professional numismatist is no match for the way that eBay allows items to be taken down.

If you feel strongly that this is a counterfiet and the seller is unresponsive then you should go ahead and report the item. The link to report the item is right above the description to the right.

I am glad that you posted your question here before taking action.

Regards,

New England Coin Exchange

Message 3 of 27
latest reply

A seller selling a fake that does not know it is a fake usually appreciates being contacted, but some do not.  They will let you know.

A seller selling a fake that knows it is a fake does not want to be contacted.  They may or may not let you know.

The prolem is, many times you don't know if you are dealing with a crook or an uninformed seller.