cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disclosing a bad transaction and the consequences of Brexit

Hello Stamp Board,
This is my first time on this site but I have been collecting GB since the sixties, and purchasing postal history items on ebay since the nineties, with a 100% positive feedback on over 4,000 ebay transactions.
I am attaching the summary of a transaction gone bad, and for which I am aware that there is no chance of getting reimbursed. However I still think that it is important that this issue is disclosed ideally also to the individuals responsible for the 17 other bids that were made on this lot.  
This would help in maintaining the positive attitude not only of your truly, but also of the ebay stamp community at large.

Thanks and best regards,

ML ('tipotopo')

The ISSUE in a nutshell

On May 21st 2023 I bought on ebay the GB hand painted cover (see picture above) for 261 GBP 

The cover, shipped to my address in Italy, was stopped by the Italian custom office, inquiring about the value of the content. The custom declaration attached by the sender said ‘zero’ value. I therefore spoke to the custom and arranged for it to be sent back to the seller in the UK

I also spoke with the office of the sender explaining the reason for the return, and also asking them to hold on to the cover so that I could give him the UK address to ship it to once it would have come back to him

My request was misunderstood and the cover was shipped again immediately to me in Italy with a custom declaration of the full GBP 261 value, and was again stopped by the Italian custom office

I had it sent back to the seller once again

Months went by without any trace of the shipment; I followed up several times with the Custom office in Milan to locate the shipment and inquire about reimbursement, but they said and confirmed that the issue had to be handled at the source, of which I duly informed the sender