cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weight amount wrong on label

I realized I had the wrong weight entered on the ebay label but only after I had applied the label to the package. I should have cancelled the label and printed the correct one but I didn't. When I got to the post office I tole the clerk what I had done and asked if I could pay the difference. Sure not a problem,  She gave me a receipt that reflected the original label and who it was going to. She charged me the difference and it was on the same receipt. Great, problem solved I thought, Next day I received a notice from eBay that I had underpaid on this particular transaction. Went to the post office this morning and no help. Clerk was not on duty that did the original change. Emailed ebay asking if I could send in a copy of my receipt showing that I had paid but no answer yet. Anything else I can do? I'm new at this and hate to start off with a negative.

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Weight amount wrong on label

I have only done this a couple of times but when I was at the post office and I paid the difference the postal office printed a postage sticker that added the additional postage. Did they do that or did they just charge you? EBay is probably not going to be able to assist with this they are simply just getting a notification form USPS and letting you know about the undercharge. You will need to work this out with the PO. 

Message 2 of 6
latest reply

What you need to do @roncarcowtown is follow the appeals process for USPS cost adjustments, and explain that you paid the difference at the PO and attach a copy of the receipt to your appeal.

Send USPS an email verifypostagehelp@usps.gov with the following details:

In order for USPS to investigate your dispute they must have the following information:

• Full Name
  • Phone Number with area code
  • Email