cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having such a bad experience with a seller - it feels so unfair

I've always felt people were truly good, and have enjoyed buying and selling on eBay. I'm just a hobbyist. I recently won the bid on 2 vintage dolls sold together. There were few pictures, and I asked questions ahead of time. The reply was vague  and only partly answered. I have found when buying dolls, if there's a defect, they usually describe it or point it out in description. One doll was of little/no value, easy to know with these vintage dolls - she had a chewed off hand - no big deal, the value was in the other doll which is what I wanted. She was a valuable collectible. The seller listed in description "I'm not an expert on these dolls so ask questions". Which I did, and which they were vague on answer. Long story short, it felt like a punch in the gut when I received the dolls only to find the heads were on the bodies of the other doll. So - the valuable dolls head was on the cheap dolls body, and the body with the chewed hand with the cheap head on it actually belonged to the valuable doll. And of course the valuable dolls head was shoved on a neck knob too big so it was split. And there were pin holes in the bosom of the doll.

I wrote to the seller. They wrote back extremely insulted I would insinuate any deception (which I did not - just let them know how surprised and upset I was). Yada yada. They said send them back. It has taken forever to get them to press the button to Accept Return so the label generated. They wrote back saying "well, I was FORCED to pay for the shipping label, and I will not be reimbursing that part to you!". WTH. Is this how this goes? I don't dare rock the boat - I paid a LOT. Haven't been reimbursed yet. AND - they can retaliate and leave a nasty comment on my buyer profile. This just feels sooooo wrong.

Took away the joy of this fun hobby.

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER