cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can the combined cost of items in an eBay standard envelope be more than $20?

I'm new to eBay and asked a Mentor @inceptions question Can the combined cost of items in an eBay standard... - The eBay Community that I later realized might be better posted here having to do with shipping sports cards using the eBay standard envelope (ESE). I recently had an order where the pre-coupon price was over $50, but the post coupon price was less than $50. I could not use the ESE. When I contacted eBay they said the total value of the items sent in an eBay standard envelope could not exceed $20. I thought no single card could be more than $20, but the total value could be $50. I read and re-read the eBay standard envelope Terms and Conditions | eBay.com with eBay helpdesk. They insist they are correct. Can anyone provide a definitive answer to these questions:

1. I understand no single card can be over $20, but can the TOTAL value of the items in an ESE be up to $50 or is the TOTAL value $20?
  2. If the TOTAL of an order with more than one item can be up to $50, is that the pre-coupon applied total or post-coupon applied total?
Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Can the combined cost of items in an eBay standard envelope be more than $20?

The total is $20 and you are only covered up to that amount if you have a claim. Personally I don't like sending cards over $9.99 using this service. Sending cards valued up to $50 in a regular envelope sounds crazy to me and I don't think many buyers would appreciate it if you did.

Message 2 of 6
latest reply

Re: Can the combined cost of items in an eBay standard envelope be more than $20?

Thanks for the response. How do you interpret this text from the eBay terms of service eBay standard envelope Terms and Conditions | eBay.com?